The Twitter Effect

20 01 2009

Whether you have a Twitter account yet or not, it’s inevitable that you’ve at least heard of it. If not, it’s a site that allows users to share quick (140 characters or less) information with anyone who “follows” them. Check it out: www.twitter.com. (You can follow The Impact Group at http://twitter.com/igpr)

I recenlty read a great case study on the one-item-for-sale-each-day web site Woot.com and how they have used Twitter to effectively drive traffic and build community. Read the full article at MarketingSherpa.com (http://www.marketingsherpa.com/article.php?ident=30996).

This case study is a testiment to the affects of not only social media, but the web as a whole. When I open my iGoogle.com page every morning, I get everything I need – from the blogs I’m reading to weather to latest news stories to the current product on sale at Woot.com.

Amazing! If you’re not using the web beyond just your organization’s web site…you’re missing out!

Matt
mwhite@igpr.com


Actions

Information

Leave a comment